Christmas is coming…and other misc stuff!!

So, this has been kind of a fun few weeks.  Today I had a fun lunch with a good friend from the past, and finger painted with Jayden this afternoon.  And then cleaned up after the finger painting for over an hour.  🙂  We have been slowly putting up Christmas decorations, which I LOVE.  I am so incredibly excited for Christmas to get here.  I have not been able to do the shopping in stores like I usually love to, but Amazon.com and Ebay love me!!  So, shopping for family and decorating have been keeping me incredibly positive and happy.  I am sure that many can relate.  I went to Jay’s work Christmas party 2 weeks ago and had an amazing time with all of his friends there.  He has an amazing job and works with such amazing, caring people.  Then, Jay and I had a date night last Friday night thanks to a generous birthday gift from 2 of our good friends.  We went out to dinner and to see Transiberian Orchestra.  And they rocked.  I really enjoyed my time with Jay.  He is such an amazing husband and father, and I love spending time with him.  And I love that he put a dozen roses on the kitchen table for me yesterday for no apparent reason at all.  I am a lucky girl.  And speaking of lucky…I had a little fundraiser dinner at Mulligans a few weeks ago, and it was so much fun!  The place was packed!  I can’t believe how many people always come to support us and see us.  It always humbles me and makes me feel so grateful.  I really am.  I just know I could not live without all of the amazing family and friends that I have.  So, thank you to all who came!!!

I have a small surgical procedure tomorrow that I will be doing.  I started my new medicines in July of this year, and since then have had these large and EXTREMELY painful lesions all over my legs.  They have really been getting worse by the day.  I can’t do anything on my knees with the kids and am not able to let the kids crawl on me or anything.  Not to mention the fact that anything that even brushes by them makes me cringe in pain.  It is horrible.  So, anyways, I have been instructed to get a small biopsy surgery done to see what the lesions are made of.  The concern with me (I always have to be difficult, don’t I??) is that one of the main side effects of my clinical trial drug is the wound healing and immuno-suppresive issues.  The drug makes it very difficult for my body to fight any infection and for any wound to heal.  The doctor wanted to do a bigger biopsy surgery to get a good portion of my lesion which would have required me to get off the of drug for 2 weeks before the surgery and for a month after the surgery.  This would be bad considering my rapid decline in the past year EXCEPT for when I was on the drug.  So, I wanted to avoid that at all costs.  So, they are doing a different surgery tomorrow which will be a smaller area and did not require abstinence from my drug.  They are hoping to get enough tissue that way so they don’t have to do the other and can make a solid diagnosis.  BUT, if they can’t, then I will be facing the other option.  It is not the end of the world in the scheme of all that I am going through otherwise.  BUT, I have to say that I don’t like how every little thing I do seems so difficult.  Know what I am saying?  It can’t just be a small problem with me.  We are concerned that my wound may “fall apart” and may not heal well.  And that I could get an infection.  But, we will see.  My surgery is at 12:30 tomorrow, and I have to be there at 10:30.  So, we will see what will happen then.

Other than that, I have been taking it easy and relaxing.  I enjoy so much being a stay at home mom with the kids.  It is so difficult for me to get motivated at times to do much more than play with them and do the basics.  I usually just don’t feel well.  But, I am really going to push myself to try to do some cleaning and cooking.  YES!!  I said cooking.  I have a 4 ingredient (anymore than 4 ingredients may not result in an edible meal) cook book that my mother in law bought me when I got married, and I intend to try this bad boy out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Who knows?  Maybe I will show Betty Crocker what’s up!!!!!!  Don’t underestimate me, people!!

We are going to Chicago this weekend to be with Jay’s brother and sister-in-law and my nephew Aiden.  I am so excited.  It will definitely be a good time, I am sure.  I will update more later!

Blessings to you all, Thanks for reading!!  XOXOXOXOOXOXO

3 thoughts on “Christmas is coming…and other misc stuff!!”

  1. Hi Mel,

    I think about you often and hope and pray that you continue to be strong. You are an inspiration to all you come in contact with and I consider myself luck to know you and be your friend. Can’t say that about Jason!! Just kidding. He too is a role model for all of us who meet and get to know him.

    Stay strong and fight the good fight!!

  2. Mel
    I had no idea what you have been going through! You are such an amazing woman and am proud to say you are my friend! I love you and think about you all the time. I want to see you and your family asap! Keep up the good fight girl you have are an inspiration to us all!!!
    Lots of love! Dana

Leave a comment